Medical Marijuana in Oregon
Who may obtain medical marijuana in Oregon?Patients who possess a signed recommendation from their physician stating that marijuana "may mitigate" his or her debilitating symptoms.
Approved Medical Conditions:
Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for HIV/AIDS, or treatment for these conditions; A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, including seizures caused by epilepsy, or persistent muscle spasms, including spasms caused by multiple sclerosis.
Other conditions are subject to approval by the Health Division of the Oregon Department of Human Resources.
Important Contact Info and Links:Oregon Department of Human Services
Medical Marijuana Program
PO Box 14450
Portland, OR 97293-0450
OR Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP)
Other Important Links:Ballot Measure 67
Senate Bill 1085
House Bill 3052
How to obtain an Oregon Registry ID card:
See your physician to obtain a recommendation and follow our links to the state registry. If you know a good grower or caregiver, you can designate this person on your application. You can always change your designation, but if you are new to growing, you will likely find it more convenient (and less frustrating) to learn from someone else in the beginning. The equipment is expensive and the conditions must be monitored closely to get good results.
Oregon's MMJ program:
State law DOES NOT require the patient to apply for a Medical Marijuana Registry identification card; although, to avoid harassment- we highly recommend it!
At time of application, the patient may provide a "primary care-giver", who upon approval, "controls the acquisition of such medical marijuana and the dosage and frequency of its use by the patient". The state registry is confidential, and state law enforcement may only contact the registry to verify patients and care-givers.
Posession & Cultivation Limits:
Grow for yourself. You may grow up to six plants, with an additional 18 seedlings (in the vegetative state). If you initially registered with a caregiver, we strongly recommend you inform the state of the change in writing, and hold onto a copy for your records.
Caregivers or Registered Growers may legally grow and distribute to their patients, however, no mention at this time with regard to dispensaries. If you have designated a caregiver, you do NOT have the right to grow yourself too- the law says the patient and caregiver must choose only ONE site. Your grower or caregiver are NOT guaranteed to be reimbursed for their efforts; the patient legally owns the plants, which the caregiver or grow site is holding on their behalf.
How much medicine can I carry?
Up to 24 ounces of useable marijuana (dried leaves and flowers- sticks, stems, and seeds don't count)
Marijuana Dispensaries in Oregon:
Dispensaries are not allowed. However, the patient may designate a provider to grow medical marijuana; the provider may only grow for one patient at a time.
$100 for new applications and renewals, $20 for applicants enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan or who receive federal Supplementary Social Security Income or monthly food stamp benefits
News about Medical Marijuana in Oregon provided by norml